Healthy Homemade Pizza (recipe) & Movie Night

Usually when it’s my turn to cook, I try to whip up something a little fancier for a bit of challenge – Thai green curry, lamb roast, or laksa for example (when I say fancy, I mean fancy by my terms).

Tonight I decided to keep it simple and throw together a pizza, with what turned out to be quite an eclectic mix of toppings (a tasty mix nonetheless).

The idea to make pizza’s started brewing in my mind when I spotted wholemeal pizza bases in the grocery aisles.

From there I meandered around the supermarket, grabbing ingredients which I thought would go together – butternut pumpkin (pre-diced), asparagus, basil, low-fat mozzarella, a tomato, roasted peri peri chicken slices, shallots and an 85c tin of champignon mushrooms (the mushrooms were a bit random, but the 85 cent bargain got me).

The best part was that it was only 15 minutes from when I started cooking to when I served the meal. This was ideal as I can’t stand that irritating feeling that comes around 7pm, when all you want is dinner but you still have to cook it.

After winging the recipe for a tomatoey-ish sauce by blending 3 tbsp greek yogurt, basil and 1 whole tomato, I covered the base with the sauce and arranged the assorted ingredients on top. All the pizza needed was 10 minutes at 200˚C in the oven before it was ready to eat.

We ate our pizza’s while watching The Intouchables – if you haven’t seen this movie, I would highly recommend (funny, clever and heartwarming).

IMG_8345.JPG

Ingriedients 

  • Pre-made wholemeal pizza base
  • Butternut pumpkin
  • Asparagus
  • Basil
  • Low-fat (optional) mozzarella
  • Tomato
  • Roasted slices of Peri Peri chicken
  • Shallots
  • Tin of Champignon mushrooms
  • Greek yogurt
  • Basil

xx

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-30 at 2.39.41 pm
Light goldenrod yellow for Homemade pizza’s

 

4 thoughts on “Healthy Homemade Pizza (recipe) & Movie Night

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

